Celebration of Medicine to honour excellence among New Brunswick physicians

SAINT JOHN – Twenty-seven physicians will be honoured during the New Brunswick Medical Society’s Celebration of Medicine event on May 26th in Saint John. The event is held annually to recognize excellence in the medical profession and celebrate the achievements of physicians in New Brunswick.

“We are proud to recognize the 2018 Celebration of Medicine award winners for their contributions to their patients, their profession and their communities,” said New Brunswick Medical Society President Dr. Dharm Singh.

“New Brunswick doctors face many challenges through their years of practice while being active and exemplary members of their communities. Each recipient is an outstanding physician, and incredibly deserving of this appreciation of their hard work.”

The event will also recognize 16 physicians with Life Memberships for their years of service. Two residents will be honoured for their outstanding achievement during their New Brunswick residency and two medical students will be recognized for their leadership, commitment and dedication in the medical community.

The full list of award winners is as follows:

NBMS Order of Merit (for outstanding commitment and contribution to the profession)
Dr Jeanne McNeill, Grand-Barachois

Dr Garfield Moffatt Award (commitment to excellence of patient care, medical education, community-at-large, and the quality of life)
Dr Michael Johnston, Dalhousie

Dr Donald Morgan Service Award (for outstanding contribution in education and/or research in health promotion wellness or humanitarian service)
Dr Margot Burnell, Saint John

Iype/Wilfred Resident Award (in recognition of outstanding achievement during residency training in New Brunswick)
Dr Kavish Chandra, Saint John
Dr Brandyn Chase, Saint John

Student Leadership Award (in recognition of students who have demonstrated exemplary leadership, commitment and dedication within and/or outside the medical community)
Antoine Béland, Fredericton
Victoria Januszkiewicz, Fredericton

CMA Honorary Members (distinction in medicine, science, the humanities or in service to their professional association)
Dr Brian Craig, Rothesay
Dr Bea Sainz, Oromocto
Dr Renée Turcotte, Moncton

NBMS Life Members (for long-time service to their communities)
Dr Ian Anderson, Rothesay
Dr Laurence Braganza, Guelph, Ont.
Dr Calvin Bruce, Fredericton
Dr John Carson, Rothesay
Dr Kimberly Deware, Shediac
Dr Ronald Garston, Hillsborough
Dr Nancy Grant, Rothesay
Dr William Irving, Saint John
Dr Oscar Koller, Fredericton
Dr Eshwar Kumar, Saint John
Dr José Ledezma, Quispamsis
Dr William Mutrie, Woodstock
Dr Robert Stevenson, Sussex
Dr Patrick Sullivan, Sussex
Dr D. Anthony Wade, Bathurst
Dr W. Brian Wheelock, Rothesay

MEDIA CONTACT: Cara Smith, New Brunswick Medical Society, (506) 462-4677, media@nbms.nb.ca