NBMS Celebration of Medicine honours New Brunswick physicians

Thirty-seven physicians will be recognized during the New Brunswick Medical Society’s (NBMS) Celebration of Medicine this weekend in Fredericton. This year marks the 10th edition of the event, held annually to honour excellence in the medical profession and to recognize dedicated physicians who have served their communities for decades.

“This is always an outstanding and emotional event for physicians and their loved ones. I’m honoured to count so many community leaders, positive role models, and enthusiastic fitness promoters among my colleagues and friends,” said Dr.  John Whelan, President of the NBMS. “Each recipient is an outstanding physician, and incredibly deserving of this appreciation of their hard work.”

All proceeds raised through ticket sales and a silent auction go towards medical student bursaries for New Brunswick residents.

 “We are recognizing the importance of our future physician leaders by extending a helping hand to the next generation by helping alleviate some of the financial burden of medical education,” continued Whelan. “This event is as much about celebrating our past as it is celebrating our future.”

The full list of award winners is as follows:

NBMS Order of Merit (for outstanding commitment and contribution to the profession)

Dr Jean Soucie, Edmundston

Dr Garfield Moffatt Award (commitment to excellence of patient care, medical education, community-at-large, and the quality of life)

Dr David Bewick, Saint John

Dr Donald Morgan Service Award (for outstanding contribution in education and/or research in health promotion wellness or humanitarian service)

Dr Jean-Pierre Arseneau, Bathurst

Iype/Wilfred Resident Award (in recognition of outstanding achievement during residency training in New Brunswick)

Dr Shane Aubé, Bathurst

Dr Aaron LeBlanc, Yarmouth, NS

Dr William F. Roberts Political Action Award (in recognition of the contributions made by a physician who has made a commitment to the public service through election to either the Provincial Legislature or the Federal House of Commons or to a non-elected member who has been or continues to be politically active)

Dr Michael Barry, Saint John

CMA Honorary Members (distinction in medicine, science, the humanities or in service to their professional association)

Dr David Blagrave, Rothesay

Dr James Henderson, Fredericton

Dr Edward Petrie, Fredericton

NBMS Life Members (for long time service to their communities)

Dr Byron Barnhill, Bathurst                                                                          

Dr Allister Carter, Moncton                                                         

Dr Roy Cole, Miramichi                                                                 

Dr John Crumley, Hanwell                                                           

Dr Julien D’Astous, Moncton                                                     

Dr Dalton Dickinson, Fredericton              

Dr Anna Viola Dugas, Bathurst                                                   

Dr Michael G. Forsythe, Riverview                                          

Dr Peter Fraser, Oromocto                                                         

Dr Dennis Furlong, Dalhousie                                                     

Dr Alfred Goodfellow, Rothesay                                              

Dr Stephen Hart, Fredericton                                                    

Dr David Hiltz, Riverview                                                              

Dr James Izzard, Rothesay                                                          

Dr Michael Johnston, Dalhousie

Dr Michael Keating, Saint John

Dr Russ King, Fredericton

Dr Ian MacDonald, Fredericton

Dr Pierre Martin, Edmundston

Dr Philip McFarlane, Houlton

Dr David McMullen, Fredericton

Dr Ross Murphy, Moncton

Dr William Patterson, Saint John

Dr Thomas Peters, Fredericton

Dr Gilbert Quartey, Moncton

Dr Bruno Selosse, Caraquet

Dr Douglas D. Smith, Fredericton

Dr Peter Stoddard, Ammon

CONTACT: Aleisha Bosch, New Brunswick Medical Society, (506) 458-8860 Ext. 633

Founded in 1867, the New Brunswick Medical Society is the professional association representing all physicians in New Brunswick. Its twin goals are to represent and serve physicians, and advocate for the health of New Brunswickers. Over a hundred New Brunswick doctors sit on our Board and Committees, representing the 1600 doctors in the province.