NBMS Celebration of Medicine honours New Brunswick physicians

Twenty-four physicians will be recognized during the New Brunswick Medical Society’s (NBMS) Celebration of Medicine this weekend in Saint Andrews. This year marks the 11th edition of the event, held annually to honour excellence in the medical profession and to recognize dedicated physicians who have served their communities for decades.

“The Celebration of Medicine allows us to take a brief pause to recognize the dedication of our province’s physicians to the health and wellbeing of New Brunswickers,” said Dr. Lynn Murphy-Kaulbeck, President of the NBMS. “Each award recipient is inspiring; they are the pillars in the medical community who motivate us to become better doctors and community members. I am honoured to count them among my colleagues and friends.”

All proceeds raised through ticket sales and a silent auction go towards medical student bursaries for New Brunswick residents.

 “This event also celebrates and recognizes the importance of our future physicians as we aim to alleviate some of the financial burden of medical education,” continued Dr. Murphy-Kaulbeck. “We are proud to extend a helping hand to the next generation of physicians.”

The full list of award winners is as follows:

NBMS Order of Merit (for outstanding commitment and contribution to the profession)

Dr. Rody Canning, Moncton

Dr Garfield Moffatt Award (commitment to excellence of patient care, medical education, community-at-large, and the quality of life)

Dr. Brian Wheelock, Saint John

Dr Donald Morgan Service Award (for outstanding contribution in education and/or research in health promotion wellness or humanitarian service)

Dr. Susan Crouse, Moncton

Iype/Wilfred Resident Award (in recognition of outstanding achievement during residency training in New Brunswick)

Dr Isabelle Cormier, Dieppe

Dr Jaclyn LeBlanc, Quispamsis/Saint John

Student Leadership Award (in recognition of students who have demonstrated exemplary leadership, commitment and dedication within and/or outside the medical community.)

Dax Bourcier, Moncton

Robert Dunfield, Sussex

CMA Honorary Members (distinction in medicine, science, the humanities or in service to their professional association)

Dr. Robert Desjardins, Bathurst

Dr. Gerry Maloney, St Martins/Saint John

Dr. Ed Schollenberg, Rothesay

NBMS Life Members (for long time service to their communities)

Dr. David Addleman, Keswick Ridge

Dr. Odette Albert, Ammon

Dr. Michael Antle, Riverview

Dr. Steven Bryniak, Saint John

Dr. Michael Daly, Moncton

Dr. Joseph Harrison, Fredericton

Dr. David Kallio, Bocabec

Dr. John Keddy, Fredericton

Dr. Jean-Pierre Lanteigne, Quebec

Dr. John Meagher, Moncton

Dr. Edward Phillips, Hampton

Dr. Louis-Marie Simard, Dieppe

Dr. Willard Edwin Smith, Saint John

Dr. William Taylor, Riverview

CONTACT: Marcelle Saulnier, New Brunswick Medical Society, (506) 440-6617

Founded in 1867, the New Brunswick Medical Society is the professional association representing all physicians in New Brunswick. Its twin goals are to represent and serve physicians, and advocate for the health of New Brunswickers. Over a hundred New Brunswick doctors sit on our Board and Committees, representing the 1600 doctors in the province.